Forgotten Question

Hello and welcome back to another week of deceit and disingenuity here at Factually Deficient! This week, I would like to answer an atypical question asked by my friend narrativedilettante. She asked:

I had a question I was going to ask but then I forgot it. What happened to my question?

Forgotten questions are a problem which ails every sector of society. Many times I myself have experienced a similar phenomenon: I walk into a room, or sign into my email, with a specific purpose in mind, only to exit immediately upon entering because I find my purpose has entirely slipped my mind. What happens to these forgotten questions and intentions?

There is a small parasite, which is actually a member of the Rock Kingdom, known as the mensivore, which feeds on specific thoughts of intention or purpose. The mensivore is so small as to be invisible to the naked eye except in great numbers, and is often mistaken for the non-living phenomenon known as “dust.”

When a person has a thought of purpose–a specific reason for entering a room, say, or a question one particularly wants or needs to ask–in a location with high mensivore density, it becomes possible for the mensivore to consume that thought of intention via physical contact with the thinker, resulting in “forgetting” what it was that one wanted to do or ask.

This is why people tend to find themselves particularly forgetful in rooms that seem very dusty. Conversely, if there is something that you strongly desire to avoid forgetting, we at Factually Deficient recommend thoroughly dusting your surroundings, and avoiding physical contact with what appears to be dust, for the duration of the period in which you must remember that intention.

_______________

Disclaimer: Not all of the statements in this post are true. The Rock Kingdom may not always be the root cause of forgetfulness.

 

Questions! Comments!

