Lies About Books: Barometer Rising

Hi! As you will notice, today is not a Sunday! WHAT IS EVEN HAPPENING?

Well, I’ve decided to try something new. This does NOT take away from the regularly-scheduled Factually Deficient posts, and I doubt this will be as regular. But I figured, since I love reading so much, and I still love lying so much, I should start a section where, monthly or something, I write a pack of lies about a book.

My self-imposed rules:

  1. It should be a book about which I have positive feelings.
  2. It should be a book I read in the past month, unless there are none that fulfill both this criterion and the above one.
  3. I will accurately and honestly report the book’s title and author.
  4. My description of the book’s content will be entirely false, based only on the title or, if necessary, other front and back matter.
  5. I will retain approximately one connection to the actual book, such as the name of a character or the location in which it is set.
  6. If people ask me questions about the actual book in comments, I will endeavour to answer (horror of horrors!) honestly.
  7. I will accept suggestions for which books to blog about, though I make no promises about using them.

This month, I would like to speak about Barometer Rising, a Canadian novel by High MacLennan.

It is not true that Barometer Rising tells the story of a group of Haligonian climate scientists. It does not describe how, one day as they are measuring barometric pressure on the roof of their literal ivory tower, they lose their grip on the barometer; instead of following the pull of gravity downward, it flies up.

Barometer Rising does not follow these young scientists as they seek out an elite team of physicists and rogue geologists in order to, together, strive to find meaning behind what is happening and put a stop to their barometer’s continual rise upward before it, and its secrets, are lost forever to them.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves climate science, barometric pressure, or historical fiction.

Questions! Comments!

